Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA), CFA Requirment

The Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) Program is a professional credential offered by the CFA Institute. CFA Institute was formerly called as the Association for Investment Management and Research (AMIR). A candidate who successfully completes the program and meets other professional requirements is awarded a "CFA charter" and becomes a "CFA charter holder".A CFA Charter Holder holds much respect with in financial business circle. CFA Designation has been recognized in United Kingdom as equivalent to Master's Degree. In the years before the financial crisis, Goldman Sachs, J.P. Morgan and other investment banks were among the employers with the largest numbers of CFA charter holders. The CFA charter is a qualification for finance and investment professionals, particularly in the fields of investment management and financial analysis of stocks, bonds and their derivative assets. CFA focuses on portfolio management and financial analysis, and provides a generalist knowledge of every area of finance. The CFA designation was first awarded in 1963. As of March 2012, CFA Institute has about 107,000 members in 138 countries around the world, including about 98,000 CFA charter holders. Requirements To become a CFA charterholder a candidate must satisfy the following requirements.
  • Have four years (48 months) of qualified work experience (or a combination of education and work experience acceptable by the CFA Institute). However, individual level exams may be written prior to satisfying this requirement
  • Complete the CFA Program (mastery of the current CFA curriculum and passing three six-hour examinations)
  • Become a  member of the CFA Institute and apply for membership to a local CFA member society
  • Adhere to  the CFA Institute Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct
Independent of any other requirements for becoming a charterholder, the CFA Program takes an average of four years for candidates to complete.  
previous article

Introduction to GMAT (Graduate Management Admissions Test)

next article

CFA Pakistan


Leave A Reply

you need to login / register first to add a comment. please click here to login now.