Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early Career for Developing Countries

  • Uncategorized
Join ScholarshipsAds:

Scholarship Description:

Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early Career for Developing Countries is open for . The scholarship allows level programm(s) in the field of taught at . The deadline of the scholarship is .

Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early Career for Developing Countries

In recognition of young women scientists from scientifically lagging developing countries who have made significant contributions to science.

Scholarship Description:

Awards are invited in collaboration with Organized in collaboration with the World Academy of Sciences the Advancement of Science in Developing Countries (TWAS) and Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD).

Subjects: Biological Sciences, agriculture, biology and medicine

The Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early Career Women Scientists in the Developing World are designed to recognize and highlight the achievements of women scientists working and living in developing countries who have made significant contributions to the advancement of scientific knowledge.

Each year a total of five winners are selected, one from each of the following regions: Latin America and the Caribbean; East and South-East Asia and the Pacific; Arab region; Central and South Asia; Sub-Saharan Africa (see complete list of countries below).

The awards are assigned in the following fields (see the attached annex for detailed information):

2016: Biological Sciences: agriculture, biology and medicine

2017: Engineering Sciences: engineering, innovation and technology

2018: Physical Sciences: chemistry, maths and physics

The winning women of the 2016 edition will be celebrated for their research excellence. Each winner will receive USD 5,000, generously contributed by the Elsevier Foundation and all-expenses-paid attendance at the Annual Meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in February 2016 in Washington, D.C., USA, where the awards ceremony will take place. The ceremony and conference provide invaluable networking opportunities for the candidates.

Winners may also be asked to act as mentors to selected young women scientists undertaking PhD scholarships through the OWSD South-South PhD programme, and will receive training in this regard.


Nominees must have received their PhD within the previous 10 years and be a female scientist living and working for 3 years immediately prior to the nomination in one of the following developing countries:

Eligible Nationalities:

Latin America and the Caribbean: Belize, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname.

East and South-East Asia and the Pacific: Bhutan, Cambodia, Indonesia, Kiribati, Korea DPR, Lao PDR, Mongolia, Myanmar, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Vietnam

Arab region: Comoros Islands, Djibouti, Mauritania, Somalia, Sudan, Yemen.

Central and South Asia: Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Nepal, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan.

Sub-Saharan Africa: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo Dem. Rep., Congo Rep., Côte d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

TWAS – www.twas.org – The World Academy of Sciences for the Advancement of Science in Developing Countries is an autonomous international organization founded in Trieste, Italy, in 1983. TWAS, which currently counts more than 1,000 eminent scientists as members, represents the best of science in the developing world. Its principal aim is to promote scientific capacity and excellence for sustainable development in the South. The administration and financial operation of TWAS is undertaken by UNESCO in accordance with an agreement signed by UNESCO and the Italian government for TWAS.

OWSD – www.owsd.net – The Organization for Women Scientists for the Developing World was established in 1989, as the Third World Organization for Women in Science (TWOWS). The Organization aims to increase women’s participation in science and technology in the developing world through academic scholarships and prizes as well as networking activities throughout the South.

The ELSEVIER FOUNDATION – www.elsevierfoundation.org – provides support for institutions in the global health and science communities working to advance scholarship and improve lives through scientific, technical and medical knowledge. In support of this mission, the Foundation focuses its grant-making on support for the world’s libraries and for scholars, especially women, in the early stages of their careers.

DEADLINE: 1 September 2015

Further Scholarship Information and Application

Degree Level:

Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early Career for Developing Countries is available to undertake level programs at .

Available Subjects:

Following subject are available to study under this scholarship program.


    Achievement Scholarships for International Undergraduate Students: Engineering and Information Technology, University of Technology Sydney


    International Peace Scholarships 2015 for women and Females, USA and Canada

    oppurtunities according to your interest