Empower Your Journalism Career: 2023 Hammarskjöld Fellowships for Developing Countries

  • Partial Funding
  • USA Universities
  • Fellowship
  • Journalism, International Affairs
  • International Students
  • USA
  • 04/24/2023
Expired in

Scholarship Description:

The Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists is currently accepting applications from professional print, television, radio, or internet journalists originating primarily from developing countries in Africa, Asia (including Pacific Island nations), Latin America, and the Caribbean. The fellowship offers an opportunity to cover the 78th United Nations General Assembly's deliberations for approximately 10 weeks. Applicants should have a strong interest in international affairs and the work of the United Nations and its member agencies. Both full-time and freelance journalists are welcome to apply.

Degree Level:

Not applicable as this is a fellowship for freelance and career journalists.

Available Subjects:

International affairs, United Nations, and its member agencies.

Scholarship Benefits:

The selected fellows will have the opportunity to observe and gain a deeper understanding of the deliberations of the influential 15-member Security Council, the General Assembly, and other U.N. bodies. They will also attend press conferences and have the chance to question U.N. officials and government leaders.

Eligible Nationalities:

Journalists from Asia, Africa, Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Middle East are eligible to apply.

Eligibility Criteria:

  1. Career journalists, aged 25-35, from primarily developing countries in Africa, Asia (including Pacific Island nations), and Latin America/the Caribbean are eligible. Freelance journalists are also eligible (see Freelance Requirements).
  2. Applicants must possess a current passport and will need to apply for and obtain an I-1 journalist visa from a U.S. Embassy or Consulate to accept the Fellowship.
  3. Work samples from no earlier than 2022 must be provided.
  4. Applicants must be employed by recognized media organizations as print, television, radio, or web journalists.
  5. Proficiency in English is required, as it is one of the primary languages used at the United Nations.
  6. Journalists younger than 25 and older than 35 are not eligible, as the program is intended for mid-career journalists.
  7. Journalism students are not eligible.
  8. Journalists from European countries are not eligible unless they are still reporting to audiences in their home country.
  9. Applicants must be from Asia, Africa, Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Middle East.

Application Procedure:

 Interested candidates for the 2023 Hammarskjöld Journalism Fellowships should complete and submit the online Application Form. All application materials must be submitted in English or, where indicated, with an English translation. Applications in progress but not submitted by the deadline will not be considered.

For any questions, please email [email protected].

View scholarship

Achievement Scholarships for International Undergraduate Students: Engineering and Information Technology, University of Technology Sydney


UWindsor Open Entrance Scholarship in Canada.

oppurtunities according to your interest