Graça Machel Scholarships for Women 2015

  • South Africa
Join ScholarshipsAds:

Scholarship Description:

Graça Machel Scholarships for Women 2015 is open for . The scholarship allows level programm(s) in the field of taught at . The deadline of the scholarship is .

Graça Machel Scholarships for Women

Canon Collins Trust invites applications for the Graça Machel scholarships for women, for postgraduate study in South Africa in 2016.
The Graca Machel Scholarship Programme helps provide the female human resources essential for economic, social, and cultural development of the Southern African region and also an educated and skilled workforce that benefits the wider community.
Course(s) Offered: All fields
Course Level: Graduate (masters, PhD)
Provider: Canon Collins Trust
Country to Study in: South Africa
Applicants must be:

  • female;

  • nationals of or have refugee status in one of the following countries:
    Angola, Botswana, DRC, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe

  • normally resident in one of the above counties;

  • seeking this scholarship for study at honours, masters or doctoral level;

  • registered to study or wish to study at a South African university.

Please apply only if you are eligible.

Selection Criteria:
In selecting scholars, the Trust will apply a number of criteria including academic merit, need and the potential to contribute to southern Africa’s future prosperity.

The Trust is looking for future leaders in their fields and therefore demonstrable leadership qualities are important. The past achievements of the applicant, present commitment to further study, as well as their future plans, will be assessed in relation to how that will contribute to the development of southern Africa.

Eligible groups
Citizens of Angola, Botswana, DRC, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Participating Institutions
Any approved university or institutions of higher learning in South Africa

Fields of study
Any postgraduate study in which applicant is in possession of a good first degree (minimum second class, upper division or equivalent) or about to graduate in the year of application.

In the past, applicants from fields like Health, Education, Science & Technology, Economics & Finance, Development have been awarded.

Number of Awards
There is no set number. The Trust makes awards on the basis of available funding and suitable applicants. It is, however, highly competitive. It makes awards to less than 5% of those who apply.

Please apply only if you meet all the criteria.

Sponsorship duration
Canon Collins will provide funding for up to a maximum of one year for Honours, two years for Masters and three years for PhD.

Continued funding will depend on satisfactory progress and academic reports.

Scholarship benefits
The scholarship covers full tuition fees, a stipend towards living costs, and a travel allowance

Method of Application
The online application form is of primary importance as it serves as the basis for assessment. It can be found on the Canon Collins Trust website (link to it is below), when the call for applications is open.

You will find full instructions online when you start a new form. Please do not type in block capitals. You will receive a confirmation when you submit your form.

It is your responsibility to ensure that your application is complete and accurate before submitting your application online.

All sections of the form need to be complete before the system will allow the application form to be submitted. Information can be saved and the application form edited until the applicant chooses to submit. All applicants are required to upload the requested supporting documentation.

Ideally, you should submit an academic reference (preferably from your current supervisor) and a reference from an employer. If you have never been employed, the Trust will accept a reference from voluntary work, or two academic references.

Applicants must apply to their chosen universities separately and awards are conditional on the applicant being offered a place at the relevant university.

It is important to visit the official website (link to it is below) to download / read thoroughly the Guidelines for Applicants and also for complete information on how to apply.

The application process is now open and will close at 15:00 GMT on 27 July 2015 for study commencing in 2015.

Late applications will not be considered.

You must apply to the universities you wish to study at for a place on your chosen course(s). If you are offered
a Canon Collins/Graça Machel scholarship but fail to get a place on a course, your offer will be withdrawn.

Please do not email the Trust to ask about the outcome of your application. All notifications will be by email so please make sure you provide an accurate email address.

Canon Collins Trust manages this scholarship on behalf of the Graça Machel Foundation. It is generously supported by the Sol Plaatje Educational Trust, MacSteel International, and SASOL.

Application Deadline: 27 July 2015
Open to International students: No (ONLY women from SADC countries)

More Scholarship Information and Application

Degree Level:

Graça Machel Scholarships for Women 2015 is available to undertake level programs at .

Available Subjects:

Following subject are available to study under this scholarship program.


    Achievement Scholarships for International Undergraduate Students: Engineering and Information Technology, University of Technology Sydney


    The Al Qasimi Foundation’s Doctoral Research Grants in UAE or Abroad, 2016-2017

    oppurtunities according to your interest