Heidelberg University, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

The Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg (Heidelberg University, Ruperto Carola) is a public research university. It is located in Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany. It was established in 1386, and therefore it is the oldest university in Germany. It was the third university established in the Holy Roman Empire. Heidelberg has been a coeducational institution since 1899. Today the university consists of twelve faculties and offers degree programmes at undergraduate, graduate and postdoctoral levels in some 100 disciplines. It is a German Excellence University, as well as a founding member of the League of European Research Universities and the Coimbra Group. The language of instruction is usually German.


After a 2003 structural reformation, the university consists of 12 faculties, which in turn comprise several disciplines, departments, and institutes. As a consequence of the Bologna process, most faculties now offer Bachelor's, Master's, and Ph.D. degrees to comply with the new European degree standard. Notable exceptions are the undergraduate programs in law, medicine, dentistry and pharmacy, from which students still graduate with the State Examination, a central examination at Master's level held by the State of Baden-Württemberg.
  • The Faculty of Behavioural Sciences and Empirical Cultural Sciences
  • The Faculty of Biosciences
  • The Faculty of Chemistry and Earth Sciences
  • The Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences
  • The Faculty of Law
  • The Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science
  • The Faculty of Medicine
  • The Faculty of Medicine in Mannheim
  • The Faculty of Modern Languages
  • The Faculty of Philosophy and History
  • The Faculty of Physics and Astronomy
  • The Faculty of Theology
previous article

Introduction to GMAT (Graduate Management Admissions Test)

next article

Uppsala University, Sweden


Leave A Reply

you need to login / register first to add a comment. please click here to login now.